Delphine Arnault reveals LVMH prize finalists

Delphine Arnault reveals LVMH prize finalists

30 designers to compete for coveted prize

Image: This Is Paper
Image: Another Africa
Image: Business Of Fashion

30 talented designers have made the shortlist for the LVMH prize, which will see one lucky designer scoop a 300,000 euro prize and a year of business coaching

Delphine Arnault has revealed the shortlist for its LVMH Young Fashion Designer Prize, a new competition that will offer one lucky designer a 300,000 euro prize as well as a year of business coaching.

Amongst the 30 shortlisted contestants are Simone Rocha, Meadham Kirchhoff, and Thomas Tait, who will show their collections during London Fashion Week before making their way to Paris to participate in the contest.

Signalling the popularity of the competition, a total of 1,221 designers submitted applications to be in with a chance to win the prize money and business advice. According to Delphine Arnault, who is driving the initiative and plays a leading role in the family-controlled business Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton, selecting the shortlist of 30 was challenging. "I was really amazed at the number of applicants and the quality of the dossiers we received," she revealed.

The shortlist features contestants from a diverse range of backgrounds, with a mix of more established designers alongside lesser known names. Amongst the shortlist are Maki Oh's Amaka Osakwe, Miuniku's Nikita and Tina Sutradhar, as well as Creatures of the Wind's Shane Gabier.

On February 26 and 27, the candidates will show eight looks from their recent collections in the auditorium at LVMH headquarters on Avenue Montaigne. During this time, 40 industry experts from the fields of retails, image, creation and publishing will meet the contestants and review their designs, narrowing the competition down to 10.

Amongst the panel experts are Natalie Massenet, founder and executive chairman of Net-a-porter; Marigay McKee, president of Saks Fifth Avenue; fashion editor Carine Roitfeld, and photographer Patrick Demarchelier. Each jury member will be expected to select their favourites designers, and the contestants with the most votes will be put forward for the next round.

In May, the chosen 10 finalists will present 20-minute long presentations to a high-profile jury including Karl Lagerfeld, Marc Jacobs, Nicolas Ghesquière, Raf Simons, Phoebe Philo and Riccardo Tisci.

Arnault reveals LVMH prize finalists

Stella Jean

Arnault reveals LVMH prize finalists

Anna October

Arnault reveals LVMH prize finalists

Maki Oh 

Arnault reveals LVMH prize finalists


Related articles

Buro 24/7 Selection