The CFDA launches new 'Instagrammer of The Year' award

The CFDA launches new 'Instagrammer of The Year' award

Social butterflies of the creative world

Image: Instagram

Instagram is about to receive some major recognition, as the CFDA announces its new award category that will see crowd-sourced results with its 'Instagrammer of the Year' award

For the first time ever, the Council of Fashion Designers of America will name a 'Fashion Instagrammer of the Year', to be selected from a group of eight nominees. The chosen ones this year are @donalddrawbertson, @dapperlou, @aguynamedpatrick, @paridust, @troprouge, @amy_stone, @hokaytokay and @bessnyc4.

The nominees were decided on by a CFDA committee comprised of industry insiders such as Rachel Zoe, The Coveteur's Stephanie Max and Editorialist's Stefania Allen and Kate Davidson Hudson.

Voting is open until May 30 via or by 'liking' any images tagged #MyCFDA on Instagram. The winner will then be revealed on, Instagram and Facebook on May 30.

Although the winner won't be getting a Trova onstage at the actual CFDA Awards on June 2, he or she will get to attend the ceremony and take over the group's Instagram account for the entire evening — serving as the ceremony's official Instagram correspondent. Each Instagrammer will also get to go behind the scenes with a fashion award nominee, documenting the unique experience along the way with the hashtag #MyCFDA.

Related articles

Buro 24/7 Selection