Inside the 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards

Inside the 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards

Raf Simons, Stuart Vevers, Demna Gvasalia

Text: Meeran Mekkaoui

Image: Reuters
Image: Splashnews

One of the biggest nights in the industry saw a fierce fashion force on the star-studded red carpet that was closely followed by an awards ceremony. Here, Buro 24/7 Middle East has the names of the CFDA Fashion Award winners and the best of red carpet style...

The Hammerstein Ballroom in New York City hosted one of the fashion calender's biggest events last night, the CFDA Fashion Awards. Earlier this year the Council of Fashion Designers of America announced the nominees, followed by the introduction of a unified category — the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent — which saw Monse's Fernando Garcia and Laura Kim take home the award last night. Then, making history is Calvin Klein's Creative Director Raf Simons, who won both Womenswear Designer of the Year and Menswear Designers of the Year — following in the footsteps of Calvin Klein himself who won two honours in 1993. Also, former Editor of Vogue Italia Franca Sozzani was awarded the Fashion Icon Award, a recognition that she also received last year.

See the full list of CFDA 2017 winners here:

Founder's Award: Pat McGrath
International Award: Demna Gvasalia, Vetements and Balenciaga
Board of Directors Tribute: Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem and Janelle Monáe
Fashion Icon Award: Franca Sozzani
Womenswear Designer of the Year Award: Raf Simons, Calvin Klein
Menswear Designer of the Year Award: Raf Simons, Calvin Klein
Accessories Designer of the Year Award: Stuart Vevers, Coach
Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent: Fernando Garcia and Laura Kim, Monse
Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Kenneth Cole
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Owens

Then, take a look at some of the best red carpet looks of the night...

Karlie Kloss

Gigi Hadid

Bella Hadid

Nicole Kidman

Adriana Lima

Heidi Klum and Zac Posen

Priyanka Chopra and Michael Kors

Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen

Lily Aldridge

Hailey Baldwin

Martha Hunt

Joan Smalls

Olivia Munn

Kate Bosworth

Anna Wintour

Sara Sampaio

Meg Ryan

Janelle Monáe

Lupita Nyong'o

Now, browse through the best of the red carpet arrivals at the amfAR Gala in Cannes

Related articles

Buro 24/7 Selection