CFDA Awards 2016: The winners

CFDA Awards 2016: The winners

Beyonce, Marc Jacobs, Thom Browne, Paul Andrew

Image: Reuters
Image: Splash

Last night New York City witnessed a new cohort of fashion's finest take to the stage to accept their awards. Buro 24/7 Middle East has the CDFA Award winners and red carpet arrivals here...

Live at the Hammerstein Ballroom, celebrities, designers and fashion icons merged to witness the crowning of the CFDA 2016 winners. After the nominees were announced in March this year, much speculation swirled around who would take the Womenswear Designer of the Year award with both Marc Jacobs and last year's winner, The Row, nominated. Then in the menswear category there was Thome Brown up against Public School, who showed their first international collection in Dubai, last November. The biggest surprise of the night however, was Beyonce's Fashion Icon Award — an award that is usually announced with the release of the nominees, but was withheld this year.

See the CFDA 2016 winners list here:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Norma Kamali

Media Award: Imran Amed of The Business of Fashion

Founder's Award: Donna Karan

International Award: Alessandro Michele of Gucci

Board of Directors Tribute: David Bowie

Fashion Icon Award: Beyonce

Womenswear Designer of the Year Award: Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year Award: Thom Browne

Accessory Designer of the Year Award: Mansur Gavriel by Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Brandon Maxwell

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Orley

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design: Paul Andrew

Then discover the best dressed of the night...

Rosie Huntington-Whiteley

Heidi Klum

Karlie Kloss

Alexa Chung

Irina Shayk

Emily Ratajkowski

Tilda Swinton

Sara Sampaio

Shanina Shaik

Julianne Hough


Rachel Roy

Alessandra Ambrosio

Olivia Wilde

Ryan Seacrest

Rachel Zoe

Adriana Lima

Olivia Palermo

Hilary Rhoda

Stay connected to Buro 24/7 Middle East for more fashion forward news.

Related articles

Buro 24/7 Selection