The Man Booker prize includes American nominees for first time

The Man Booker prize includes American nominees for first time

Karen Joy Fowler and Richard Powers are among 13 names on longlist

Editor: Buro 24/7

Image: Buro 24/7 Russia

The Chair of judges for the prestigious award, AC Grayling, says it has been 'vintage year' for competition which this year includes US writers for first time

Among the British heavyweight writers on the list announced today are Howard Jacobson (pictured above), David Mitchell and Ali Smith – who will compete for the Man Booker prize in its first time as a global literary award, along with David Nicholls, writer of the bestsellers Starter for Ten and One Day.

Thirteen novels were named, which usually – and for more than 40 years – has rewarded only Commonwealth and Irish writers. However the rules changed last year, sparking some fears that it would become dominated by Americans.

It transpires that judges chose four Americans: Joshua Ferris, Siri Hustvedt, Karen Joy Fowler and Richard Powers. This year's Chair, philosopher AC Grayling, said it had been a vintage year:

"They are very ambitious books and some of them tackle big issues of the day," he said. "There's a lot of perceptiveness and wisdom in these books, some of them are quite moving and all of them are very difficult to put down once you get into them – a feature of just how richly textured they are and what great stories they tell."

The winner will be announced in September.

booker prize

booker prize




Related articles

Buro 24/7 Selection