The Cannes film festival unveils its 2014 jury

The Cannes film festival unveils its 2014 jury

Willem Dafoe, Sofia Coppola and many more

Image: Getty Images

As the Cannes Film Festival draws near, this year’s nine-member jury panel for the prestigious cinematic event has now been revealed…

Yesterday, the 2014 Cannes Film Festival announced the names of those on the jury presided over by Palme d'Or-winning Jury President Jane Campion. Adding an essence of glamour to this year's edition, Sofia Coppola, Willem Dafoe, Gael Garcia Bernal and Denmark's Nicolas Winding Refn have all been chosen to be part of the 67th Cannes Festival's new jury.

They will be also be accompanied by France's Carole Bouquet, Iran's Leila Hatami, China's Jia Zhangke, and South Korea's Jeon Do-yeon. 

Showcasing its broad geographical range, the festival stated, "Cannes has always sought to adopt a universal and international approach, and in tune with this tradition, Campion will be surrounded by eight luminaries of world cinema, from China, Korea, Denmark, Iran, the United States, France and Mexico,"

Cannes 2014 jury announced

The festival will begin on May 14th, with the world-wide premiere of Olivier Dahan's drama Grace of Monaco, starring Nicole Kidman.

The competition's winners will be announced Saturday May 24, followed by The Palme d'Or winner screening at the festival's closing ceremony on Sunday with the highly-qualified jury and team of the winning movie present. 

Cannes 2014 jury announced

Related articles

Buro 24/7 Selection